fEsTiVus · Giggles · Life · Love

The One of a Kind Show ~ Girly Girl Time!

car

Hooray, it’s December 1 ~ I love this month for obvious reasons, but of course, I start my Christmas rituals mid November!

I buy One Of A Kind Tickets, find a few girlfriends that play well together, like to eat & laugh, and there you have it.  A day made in heaven!   I did however, ask my hubby if he was interested in going, but he just mumbled something under his breath how he would “rather have his ba**s in a vice,” so I took it as a no! 🙂

So, this was me last Saturday with 3 other girlfriends and a drive into Toronto for The One Of A Kind (TOOAK) Show.   First of all, I rarely make the commute, so being soaked up by the concrete jungle is the start of a perfect day for me.   I have a slight crush on NYC so the “THE 6IX” is the next best thing. (You’re welcome Drake).   I must back up slightly…the drive through Tim’s AND the Baileys said friends poured into my coffee most DEFINATELY made it the perfect day!

We are all on a hunt to find that special gift.  Something for Aunty Spendthrift, Cousin Spendapalooza, and Grandma Needsnothing.  TOOAK is perfect for this.  That custom made piece of jewelry or the hand soap that smells good enough to eat.  And don’t even get me started about that wonderful Cranberry Pudding with a butter sauce you want to climb into.  I introduced this to one of the girls and as she was making her purchase, I sauntered over to snag a second sampling. So delish!

Good times, however, this day was way more than the shopping or the food.  It’s was the drive in, the laughs, and the discussion of things that got me thinking ~ I’m hearing some funny  material here.   Then of course, as friends do, having heard my exciting news, have many ideas for me, and some really great one liners.  I may steal a few, and if this is called plagiarism, I’m all in! They all think they are hilarious, which I find adorable, and you know what?  They really are!!!

We first dicussed what to wear to a festive party.   They all decided ‘sparkly’ would be good.  Arrgh..I don’t do sparkly.  I’m a princess most days, but DO NOT want to saunter into a party resembling a Christmas ornament.  We continue to give each other advice, what we have to borrow, and if we need a mani or just a pedi!  Girl Talk at it’s best. We then discuss different menu options, what we all can bring,  and then laugh hysterially thinking how hungry we all are and it’s not even 10am.

I’m still sipping my Tim Hortons Coffee Baileys Coffee and with each chug, as I near the bottom, get a little tasty surprise of booze.  This day is going to ROCK I say!

The discussions continue.  “I’m going to get eyelashes for the party!”  What?!  One pal had no clue that this was an option at our age, and then of course, because she is all about ‘health’ wanted to know the possible side effects, concern about allergies, and will she look like a hooker!  They are pretty and if done by a proper aesthetician, you can’t tell the difference. I just picture me now, having one fall off mid sentence into my drink, and the other sticking to my cheek like a rogue caterpillar and nobody telling me for hours.

lashes
My girl Kim…if these are real, I’ll eat my party dress!

We have a few discussions about our kids and their hockey life, schools, teachers and the price of rice in China.  You get my drift.  Then we find humor in the silliest things. Why we ignore the parking guy wielding his baton,  and drive sporadically through the parking lot  to find our own spot close to the doors.  Hooray for us.  I ask about that Elf on a Shelf.   We all found it silly and none of us every purchased one.  Interesting.  As much as I adore everything Christmas, I never embraced this dude. I would just feel like someone was always watching me…he is one creepy little bugger, dangly leg and all,  and those eyes…

elf
I will haunt you in your dreams….

The line is long to get in, but moving fast.  They all look to me for direction since this is really my day, and they know it!  I slightly straighten my crown!  I’m still smiling.  We decide to move west, taking it row by row, as most do. I walk at a fast pace.  My friends were lagging back a bit, so after a few over the shoulder glances, they knew to step in time!!!

Not that we fancy ourselves crafty, but we did see a few things that we thought we could create ourselves with a quick trip to Michaels.  We noticed that things around the neck are very in. Everything from wool, fabric, to real and faux fur.  We saw one scarf that we for SURE knew we could recreate.  We have many coyotes in and around Oakville, and if someone is ok with a beautiful piece around their neck with a little mange, consider it done!

We figured out not to make eye contact with vendors.  Speaking from experience with my ‘booth’ days, when you relentlessly ask a bunch of questions and then don’t purchase something and proceed to walk away, it makes us ‘vendors’ slightly enraged!  We near gave ourselves whiplash turning away from the preying eyes so as to not hurt their feelings and give them any false hopes.

We passed a huge crowd all hunkered down on chairs.  We were at the halfway point, and knew that a vibrating pillow would provide some relief.  I’m proud of my girls.  They are still with me.  At the best of times, they find these things “too peopley” and warned me at the get go I had a window of 3 hours.  Humph, do I now!

As we all scrambled for a spot to sit like a childhood game of Musical Chairs, the pillows start to vibrate. A lovely little old lady was using one, and I couldn’t hold my tongue.  I reminded her that it was a vibrating pillow and NOT a vibrator.  I think we made her day.  She purchased two!  You go girl.

We lost then found a credit card, we bought the fudge, a couple of beautiful necklaces, oh and one vibrating pillow for my dad’s back!…  (wink wink)

We decided to forgo the fashion show, and figured a nice lunch would close off this day perfectly.

girls
Hmm..wine, wine, wine, Beer!

As much as the shopping was fantastic, it’s the little moments in time we spend with our girlfriends that makes one realize how important this is.  Go shopping, but don’t take the train!  Spend the time in conversation.  So well worth it!

Mele Kalikimaka my friends,

xoxo leslie-ann2

 Thought for the day:

    Remember, every time you re-gift something, an elf loses his job!

6 thoughts on “The One of a Kind Show ~ Girly Girl Time!

    1. Thanks lady. You are correct. Never without my beer, although I have been trying a few different Vinos lately. I like the bubbly. Hope all is well in Memphis. Xo Miss Y’all

      Like

Love to hear your opinion....

